Skip To Navigation
Skip To Content
Government of Alberta

Princess Louise Caroline Alberta

A land of freedom and beauty, named for love

Princess Louise Caroline AlbertaThe Province of Alberta is named after Princess Louise Caroline Alberta, the fourth daughter of Queen Victoria and wife of the Marquis of Lorne, Canada’s Governor General from 1878-1883.

In 1881, the Governor General and Princess Louise visited Canada’s North-West Territories, which had been ceded to Canada by the Hudson’s Bay Company in 1870.

In 1882, the North-West Territories was divided into four districts: Assiniboia, Athabasca, Saskatchewan and Alberta.

The District of Alberta was named by the Marquis of Lorne. The inspiration for the name is found in a verse the Marquis dedicated to his wife.

"In token for the love which thou has Shown
For this wild land of freedom, I have Named
A Province vast, and for its beauty Famed,
By thy dear name to be hereafter Known.
Alberta shall it be!"

In 1905, the newly formed Canadian Province of Alberta formally assumed the name of the former District of Alberta.

Alberta’s world-famous Lake Louise, Alberta is also named after Princess Louise Caroline Alberta.